Chief of Police

Mark Dodd

300 Joe Brown Rd.

Marion, LA 71260

Marion Fire Department

Marion Fire Chief: Jimmy Caldwell

MFD Members:

Stacy Caldwell

Bryan Strother

Nap Riley

Don Charles

Roger Reeves

Mike Brantley

Michael Gilliam

Jeffrey Kirkland

P.O. Box 511

Marion, LA 71260

Rhonda Davis

PO Box 18

Farmerville, LA 71241

Marion City Council: The Honorable-


Mark Andrews

177 Baker St.

Marion, LA 71260

Bubba Hoggatt

P.O. Box 376

Marion, LA 71260

Lindsey Redd

783 Main St.

Marion, LA 71260

Town of marion elected officials


Erik Redd

Wes Franklin

Casey Towns

Chad Towns

Tanechia Riley

Abe Stanley

Brandon Towns

Travis Pilgreen

Mike Starr

Town Departments:

Town Clerk:     Johnnie Baker-

Assistant Clerk:   Cheryl Futch-

Police Dept.:          Chief of Police: Mark

Fire Chief:                Kenneth Franklin

Public Works:           Jimmy Caldwell-Superintendent

                                     Stacy Caldwell-Assistant

Ambulance Services:   Union Parish utilizes Pafford MS

                                         Dial 911 for emergency services

                                         For non-emergency dial (318) 368-7033


146 Hopkins Dr.

Marion, LA 71260

(318) 292-4715 (B)

Mayor Danny Smith begin his first term on January 1, 2019.  His first term will end on December 31, 2022



Town of Marion

Town of Marion


January 8, 2019

The Town of Marion’s Board of Alderman met Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. at the Marion Fire Station for the regular business meeting.  Members present include: Mayor Danny A. Smith, Aldermen Bubba Hoggatt, Jeffrey Kirkland, Mark Andrews, and Alderwomen Lindsey Redd, and Rhonda Davis.  Guests included Clerk Johnnie Baker, Assistant Clerk Cheryl Futch, Water Superintendent Jimmy Caldwell, Assistant Water Superintendent Stacy Caldwell, Chief Mark Dodd, Officer Jackie Norton, Bob Myers, and Lee Lloyd.  Mayor Smith called the meeting to order and Alderman Hoggatt gave the invocation.  Alderman Kirkland led the pledge of allegiance.  Mayor Smith then welcomed the guests.

On motion by Alderman Kirkland, second by Alderwoman Davis to adopt the minutes from the December regular business meeting.  Motion carried.

On motion by Alderwoman Redd, second by Alderman Hoggatt, to approve the budget/financial reports.  Motion carried.

Bob Myers gave an update to the council on FY 2018/29 LCDBG.  The town is approximately 90 days away from the start date.  The town is currently waiting on the completion of the Environmental Review.

On motion by Alderman Hoggatt, second by Alderwoman Davis to adopt the amended Resolution 2018-05 / LCDBG Program Management.  The motion was presented for a roll call vote with the following result:

YEAS: Hoggatt, Davis, Redd, Kirkland, Andrews

NAYS: None


A full copy of the resolution in on file at the Marion Town Hall.

On motion by Alderwoman Davis, second by Alderman Kirkland to appoint the Clerk and Tax Collector as Johnnie Baker, Water Superintendent as Jimmy Caldwell, Attorney and Magistrate (on as needed basis) as Joe Cusimano. Motion carried.

The appointment of Mayor Pro Tem was tabled.

On motion by Alderwoman Redd, second by Alderman Andrews to support the hiring of Jeff Maxwell for the 2018 Financial Audit.

On motion by Alderman Kirkland, second by Alderman Hoggatt to pay bills.  Motion carried.

There was discussion by the Mayor, Council, and Water Superintendent regarding a solution for trash cans.  More information will be gathered and presented back to the council.

Mayor Smith announced the grand opening of Cre Cre's is projected for the first part of February, and Morehouse Community Medical's will be in March or April.

Mayor Smith advised the Marion website will be updated with new information for council members, mayor, and fire chief.

Mayor Smith advised the town will begin acknowledging deaths of Marion residents with a sympathy card.

On motion by Alderman Hoggatt, second by Alderwoman Redd to adjourn.  Motion carried.+